New India Internship – IIT Madras – Pilot Programme

DURATION: DECEMBER 10, 2018 – JANUARY 9, 2019

Objective of New India Internship

To introduce students of IITs, NITs and other centrally funded institutes to developmental challenges faced by rural areas of India

To study how technology could aid in rural development

Identified problem areas: health and hygiene (Swacch), energy, water, pollution, agriculture, environmental sustainability and digital governance

To make the members of village community, students and researchers stakeholders in creating and disseminating technologies for rural development

Create rural technology feed back loop which could evolve into a rural supply chain

Terms of Reference 1

IIT students would collaborate with stakeholders in rural India to design scientific and technological models to address issues at the ground level

Encouraging students to be enthusiastic partners in institutionalizing a model of sustainable, inclusive and equitable development in the following areas:

- Health and hygiene (Swacch)
- Water and sanitation
- Solid waste management
- Renewable energy
- Agriculture
- Environment
- Digital governance
- Education

Terms of Reference 2

- Guidance and Monitoring Faculty advisors and mentors to work with students before and after the internship
- Orientation Prof. Sangeeta Kohli (IIT Delhi), Dr. Ravi Chopra (IIT Bombay) and Dr. Sandeep Pandey (IIT BHU) to be part of the expert committees
- Primer Prior field visits to be planned locally CSIE, IVIL, RUTAG, IIT Madras
- Priority Security of students, especially girls in the field to be a factor in choosing constituencies
- Cooperation partnership with other IITs and NITs

Terms of Reference 3 – Proposed Committees

Steering Committee – Director - IIT Madras, Dean Students, Dean Planning, Dean I & AR, Prof. B. S. Murthy, Prof. V. R. Muraleedharan, Prof. Shaligram Tiwari, Dr. Ramu Palaniappan, Prof. K. C. Sivakumar, Dr. N. V. Ravikumar, Dr. Sudarsan Padmanabhan

Mentoring and Monitoring Committee – Prof. Susie Verghese, Prof. Abhijeet Deshpande, Prof. Suresh Babu, Dr. Vijayalakshmi, Prof. Pijush Ghosh, Dr. Satyanarayan Seshadri, Dr. Sujatha Srinivasan, Prof. Indumathi Nambi, Prof. Shankar Narasimhan, Prof. Devendra Jalihal, Prof. Krishna Nandivada

Coordination Committee – Mr. Srinivas Prabhu (Fmr. Lok Sabha Director), Mr. Prime Point Srinivasan (Sansad Ratna), Mr. G. A. Prithvi (PS to MOS Parliamentary Affairs), Mr. Jayaram Venkatesan (Local Governance Activist), Mr. Nandakumar (Panchayati Raj Expert), Mr. James Rajanayagam (CSIE, IITM), Dr. K. Nagesh (IIITS)

All Steering Committee Members will automatically be members of other committees

Reporting and Follow up

Every group of New India Interns would be required to submit a detailed field report in a prescribed format to the Internship Coordinator and the Steering Committee

After the evaluation of the report, it would be forwarded to the District Collector, Member of Parliament, Member of Legislative Assembly, Ministry of Panchayati Raj and Rural Development, Ministry of Human Resource Development, and the Office of the Prime Minister of India, with specific recommendations.

A follow up mechanism with NGOs, MPs, MLAs and District and Local Administration officials to be put in place

Based on the feasibility of recommendations, future projects could be undertaken by students, faculty and government or private agencies

Best group of interns will be recognized with special awards

Deadlines for the Winter Internship starting from December 10, 2018

August 15, 2018 – Announcement by the Director, IIT Madras

September 15, 2018 – Advertisement

October 10, 2018 – Meeting with interested students

October 15, 2018 – Concerned MPs and District Magistrates, RDOs, BDOs, and other local officials to be informed

October 20, 2018 – Confirmation from MPs

November 1, 2018 - Selection of the Interns and constituency allotted

November 22, 2018 – Orientation for the Selected Students

November 23, 2018 – Local Field Visit

December 10, 2018 – Students leave for the constituencies

Commitment of MPs

Identifying important issues and challenges specific to their constituencies

Informing District Magistrates, RDOs, BDOs, and Local officials about New India Internship

Appointing a nodal person as a contact point - knowledge of the local issues, language, culture and good rapport with administration officials

Arranging boarding, lodging and local transportation for IIT Madras student interns

Reviewing the report of the New India Internship Interns

Recommendations to Government of India, District and Local Administration

Utilizing MPLADS funding if and when possible for internship expenditure

List of MPs Contacted and Responded (Sansad Ratna)

- 1. Mr. Arjun Ram Megwal Bikaner, Rajasthan
- 2. Mr. Shrirang Appa Barne Mawal, Maharashtra
- 3. Mr. Rajeev Satav Hingoli, Maharashtra
- 4. Ms. Supriya Sule Baramati, Maharashtra
- 5. Mr. D. B. Mahadik Kolhapur, Maharashtra
- 6. Mr. Hansraj Ahir Chandrapur, Maharashtra
- 7. Mr. Veerappa Moily Chikballapur, Karnataka

8. Mr. Bhartruhari Mahtab – Cuttack, Odisha

- 9. Mr. Dr. Heena Gavit Nandurbar, Maharashtra
- 10. Dr. Anbumani Ramadass Dharmapuri, Tamilnadu
- 11. Mr. Anandarao Adsul Amravati, Maharashtra

List of Aspirational Districts Assigned to MHRD by the PMO

- 1. Uddham Singh Nagar, Uttarakhand
- 2. Khagaria, Bihar
- 3. Purnia, Bihar
- 4. Mahasamand, Chhattisgarh
- 5. Raichur, Karnataka
- 6. Moga, Punjab
- 7. Adilabad, Telangana

MPs Who Are Interested

- 1. Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore Jaipur Rural Rajasthan
- 2. Anurag Thakur Hamirpur, Himachal Pradesh
- 3. P. P. Chaudhary Pali, Rajasthan

Tamil Nadu MPs Interested

Kallakurichi – Mr. K. Kamaraj

Salem – Mr. V. Panneerselvam

Theni – Mr. R. Parthipan

Chidambaram – Mr. M. Chandrakasi

Tiruppur – Ms. V. Sathyabama

Chennai North – Mr. T. G. Venkatesh Babu

Rajya Sabha – A. Vijayakumar

New India Internship, IIT Madras

Thank you

M.S. SIVAKUMAR & SUDARSAN PADMANABHAN